Benue sweeps CAANU national elections

Benue State University Alumni Association (BSUAA) Acting National President Comr. Godwin Terhemba Agbadu, on Saturday, December 3, 2022, led Benue State University alumni and other Benue sons to write their names in gold at the prestigious Bayero University, Kano in Kano State by winning almost all the elective positions they competed for during the quadrennial convention organized by the Nigerian Universities Alumni Associations Conference.

Among the Benue sons who emerged victorious at the convention were Prof. Yakubu A. Ochefu, Professor in the Department of History at Benue State University, Makurdi, who is also the National President of the University Alumni Association from Calabar, emerged as the National President of the Alumni Conference. Associations of Nigerian Universities (CAANU). Professor Yakubu Ochefu was Vice Chancellor of Kwararafa Wukari University, Taraba State and current Secretary General of the Nigerian Universities Vice Chancellors Committee. He is a former Deputy Vice Chancellor of Benue State University, Makurdi.

Other Benue sons who gained standing at the quadrennial convention included Barr. Benki Womboh and Mr. Ayatse Theophilus as CAANU Legal Adviser and Treasurer respectively. Barr. Womboh is from Benue State University Alumni Association and Mr. Ayatse from Mkar University, Mkar while Joseph Saawuan Tarka University produced Financial Secretary Ijeoma Ogu.

Unfortunately, Com. Vihimga Terungwa Lawrence, who competed for the PRO spot, lost to Barr. Ayiwulu Baba Ayiwulu, from Nasarawa State University, who defeated him with 80 votes to 24 votes.

While congratulating the winners, the acting national president, Benue State University alumni, Comr. Godwin Agbadu expressed his satisfaction with the result of the elections.

The quadrennial convention called “Restoring Full Autonomy of Nigerian Universities” was attended by Nigerian universities from all over the country.

Group photograph of some BSUAASITES at the recently concluded CAANU national elections

Leave a Comment