Casper Ruud becomes the first player to receive the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award since 2003, surpasses Federer and Nadal

The Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award is presented annually to the player who, throughout the year, acted with the highest professionalism and integrity, competed with fellow players in the spirit of greatest fairness, and advanced in the game through extracurricular activities. . .

casper ruud has received the most votes as a player for 2022. Ruud breaks an 18-year streak in which Rafael Nadal or Roger Federer he won it every year: Nadal five times and Federer 13 times (2004 to 2009, 2011 to 2017). (2010, 2018 to 2021).

The most recent winner of the honor outside of Federer or Nadal was Thai player Paradorn Srichaphan in 2003.

“I just wanted to say thank you to everyone who voted for me for this year’s ATP Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award. I feel very, very honored and happy to win this award this year. I’ll try to keep my mood in the right place for next year. I can’t wait to be back on the court.

I wish you all Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year when that time comes. So, see you again on the court soon, and as I said, thanks again to everyone who voted and to the ATP for giving me this award.”


This year, Frances Tiafoe, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Rafael Nadal and Ruud were the other four nominees for the award. The International Tennis Writers Association (ITWA) selected the nominees, while the ATP players selected the winner.

Since Stefan Edberg has won it four times in 1989, 1990, 1992 and 1995. The Norwegian is the first player from Scandinavia to receive the honour. In 1996, the award was renamed in honor of the Swede. Ruud, who finished the 2022 season in third position. He is the first man from Scandinavia to do so since Edberg in 1992.

Also read: Andy Murray pledges $630,000 for Ukraine humanitarian aid

Nadal replaces Federer as fan favorite after almost 2 decades

Rafael Nadal is the winner of the ATP Fans’ Favorite Award for the first time in his career. This broke Roger Federer’s winning streak for the last 19 years in a row from 2003 to 2021.

Players still competing during the week of November 7 in the Top 100 of the ATP Rankings qualified as Fans’ Favorite nominees. Federer lost his eligibility for the award this year after he slipped out of the ATP rankings and the Top 100 in July. The Fans’ Favorite award was first handed out in 2000 and Nadal is only the fourth player to win it, after Gustavo Kuerten (2000), Marat Safin (2001-2002) and Federer (2003-2021).

In addition, he is one of the candidates for this year’s Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award, which will be presented later this week.

Thanks for reading. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Follow us on: google news | Facebook | instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a nice day ahead 🙂

Leave a Comment