FULL LIST: World Cup 2022 Prize Money Breakdown

The prize money for the teams participating in the 2022 World Cup being held in Qatar amounts to a whopping $440 million.

The 2022 tournament featured 32 teams from various countries around the world. 13 countries from Europe, five African teams, four North American countries, four South American countries and six Asian countries.

The teams that exited the World Cup in the group stage (Qatar, Ecuador, Wales, Iran, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Denmark, Tunisia, Canada, Belgium, Germany, Costa Rica, Serbia, Cameroon, Ghana, Uruguay) won $9 million each

The teams that reached the round of 16 (USA, Senegal, Australia, Poland, Spain, Japan, Switzerland, South Korea) each won $13 million.

While those who reached the quarterfinals – Brazil, the Netherlands, Portugal, England – earned $17 million each.

Morocco, fourth place, won $25 million

Third place Croatia won $27 million

The runner-up to Argentina or France will win $30 million, while the winner of the 2022 FIFA World Cup will win $42 million.

This is an increase of $40 million compared to the 2018 tournament.

Prior to 2006, World Cup-winning teams never pocketed more than $10 million, with 1982 champions Italy walking away with an estimated $2.2 million for their efforts.

In 2002, there was a big push from national teams for FIFA to increase the prize money on offer. Below are the prize money won from 1982 to 2022;

Year prize money
2022 $42 million
2018 $38 million
2014 $35 million
2010 $30 million
2006 $20 million
2002 $8 million
1998 $6 million
1994 $4 million
1990 $3.5 million
1986 $2.8 million
1982 $2.2 million

The tournament will officially come to a close on Sunday (today) December 18, 2022, as the champions, France, will take on Argentina for the chance to lift the trophy and win the grand prize of $42 million.

Leave a Comment