New Igorrr album “Hallelujah” should be a fitting soundtrack to the end of the world

Igorrr - Hallelujah album cover

As I’m sure you’re all aware, the world is going to end this Dec. 21st. But while you’re stocking up on guns and MREs and dodging flaming meteorites and whatnot, you should really take a few minutes to download Hallelujah, the new album from Igorrr. Assuming your Internet’s still working. If it’s not, you might have to go loot your local record shop instead.

Igorrr, who mixes breakcore, death metal and Baroque classical music, is probably our favorite artist we discovered in 2012. His previous album, Nostril, was a raging, ADHD mindfuck of a record, but Hallelujah promises to be even crazier, as the mad Frenchman known to his mom as Gautier Serre ups the ante with even more complex arrangements, aided and abetted by live guest musicians including members of Mayhem, John Zorn’s band and Vladimir Bozar ‘n’ ze Sheraf Orkestär. I’d never heard of that last one either, but they’re also from France and they sound like this. Oh, and Gautier’s pet chicken shows up a few times, too. It all bodes extremely well for the weirdness factor on Hallelujah, I’d say.

Igorrr’s label, Ad Noiseam, is previewing two full tracks, “Tout Petit Moineau” and “Vegetable Soup,” on their website, along with a few other snippets. But we’ll leave you with the tracklist and the official album trailer, which stars Igorrr’s mom. It makes me so fucking happy that over 10,000 people have watched this in just 10 days that I don’t even know what to do with myself.

Hallelujah tracklist:

1. Tout Petit Moineau
2. Damaged Wig
3. Absolute Psalm
4. Cicadidae
5. Vegetable Soup
6. Lullaby for a Fat Jellyfish
7. Grosse Barbe
8. Corpus Tristis
9. Scarlatti 2.0
10. Toothpaste
11. Infinite Loop

-> Get Hallelujah on

P.S. Shout-out to our buddy Ian Frost for sharing this blessed news with us. Guess we now know what to get you for Christmas, Ian!



Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

We’ve been doing this blog for nearly three years now, so we’ve gotten pretty jaded. When a reader writes in and describes an artist we’ve never heard of as “totally insane” and “makes you laugh and cry at the same time,” we brace ourselves for disappointment. But reader bbawck was not exaggerating about this Igorrr guy. In fact, this might be the most original music Jake and I have heard all year.

Igorrr is the solo project of a French producer named Gau­tier Serre, who is also one-half of a death metal band called Whourkr. In simplest terms, Igorrr is a fusion of breakcore, death metal and Baroque-inspired classical music. Igorrr even released an EP in 2010 called—wait for it—Baroquecore. At least he didn’t call it Baroquen Beats.

But here’s the thing: We’ve been listening to Igorrr’s stuff for the past several days and there is literally no way to categorize it. A single track might toss in a little Texas two-step, an old-timey jazz sample, some cut-up drum ‘n’ bass beats, a smidgen of trip-hop and industrial, some pretty ambient piano and an operatic baritone. It’s like Mike Patton, Amon Tobin, Aphex Twin and Kerry King made an album together. Except it’s all one guy. It’s amazing.

Serre self-released two Igorrr albums in 2006 and 2008, but he really only began to get attention for this stuff in 2010, with the release of the album Nostril and the aforementioned Baroquecore EP. Since then, he’s been building a good-sized fan base around Europe and parts of the Middle East (he seems to be very popular, randomly, in Lebanon). As far as we can tell, he remains virtually unknown in the U.S., but hopefully that will change soon.

Ready for what one YouTube commenter astutely describes as the “ultimate combination of pagan folk, jazz, dance, techno, classical, hardcore and death metal”? Here you go.

You might also like: Otto von Schirach, Anklepants, Gangpol & Mit

Related stories: