The NBA changes the name of the MVP award to the Michael Jordan Trophy

Michael Jordan Trophy: The trophy presented to the NBA’s Most Valuable Player will be renamed the Michael Jordan Trophy. Additionally, it is one of six newly designed trophies named after NBA superstars and follows the name of the All-Star Game MVP trophy in honor of the late Kobe Bryant. Wilt Chamberlain, John Havlicek, George Mikan, Hakeem Olajuwon and Jerry West are the other five former players. While playing for the Chicago Bulls, six-time NBA champion Michael Jordan won the MVP award five times.

Michael Jordan played for the Bulls for most of his career from 1984 to the present, during which time he established himself as a global superstar and contributed to the rise of NBA notoriety.

Michael Jordan Trophy: names of all the new trophies

The following are the names of the names of all the new trophies renamed by nba:

  • Michael Jordan Trophy, formerly known as MVP
  • Hakeem Olajuwon Trophy, formerly known as Defensive Player of the Year
  • Wilt Chamberlain Trophy: Rookie of the Year
  • Jerry West Trophy: Clutch Player of the Year
  • John Havlicek Trophy: Sixth Man of the Year
  • George Mikan Trophy: Most Improved Player of the Year

Also read: The best teams of the NBA 2022-23 season

Michael Jordan Trophy

In honor of Jordan’s No. 23 jersey, his six championships, and his 23.6-inch height and 23.6-pound weight, the Michael Jordan Trophy was created. In addition, Jordan’s five league MVPs are represented by the five base sides.

About Michael Jordan

former professional basketball player Michael Jordan, often known by his initials MJ, is an American businessman. According to the biography of him on the NBA website, Michael Jordan is undoubtedly the best basketball player to ever play. He competed in the National Basketball Association (NBA) for fifteen seasons, winning six NBA titles with the Chicago Bulls. Jordan serves as the president and principal owner of 23XI Racing in the NASCAR Cup Series, as well as the NBA’s Charlotte Hornets. Furthermore, in the 1980s and 1990s, he played a key role in the globalization of the NBA and rose to fame as a global culture hero.

Also read: Top 5: Youngest players in NBA history

The charge The NBA changes the name of the MVP award to the Michael Jordan Trophy first appeared in The SportsLite.

Leave a Comment