Who won the Ballon d’Or award at the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

At the 2022 FIFA World Cup, Lionel Messi took home the Golden Ball. What Argentina he won his third championship under his management. He broke a curse associated with the trophy by becoming the first player to win it at two different World Cups. In the previous six tournaments, the Ballon d’Or had always been won by a player from the losing semi-finalist or runner-up team.

Read more: Who won the Golden Boot award at the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

Lionel Messi wins the Ballon d’Or

After winning the inaugural Ballon d’Or in 2014, Lionel Messi became the first athlete to win two of them. On Sunday he achieved his second win at the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar in Qatar.

After announcing midway through the tournament that the 2022 FIFA World Cup would be his last World Cup. Messi finished his “last dance” by defeating France and winning his second Ballon d’Or trophy.

In Argentina’s opening match in Qatar 2022 against Saudi Arabiathe paris saint germain The striker scored his first goal.

He went on to score, including an impressive goal against Mexico. An overtime draw in the championship game that sent the game to a penalty shootout. Lionel Messi is the only player to have won the Ballon d’Or twice at the World Cup. Since it was first delivered in 1982. (2014, 2022).

Argentina won their third World Cup trophy in 2022, 36 years after the last time. Making it the only nation to have won three championships and the fourth country overall to have appeared in three or more World Cups.

Read more: Lionel Messi surpasses Cristiano Ronaldo and sets a World Cup record for most man of the match honors

How is the Ballon d’Or awarded?

FIFA’s Technical Study Group selects a shortlist in collaboration with members of the media from around the world and cast votes based on the players on the shortlist. The Ballon d’Or award was first awarded in 1982 at the World Cup in Spain. They gave it to the best player of the tournament.

Read more: “No, I’m not going to retire.” – Messi promises to lead Argentina even after winning the World Cup

Leaving aside the Ballon d’Or Lionel Messi breaks several records

The Argentina captain already has eight assists. A record total with Diego Maradonaand 12 goals, equal to of skin sum in the World Cups.

he overcomes miroslav kloseGerd Muller and ronaldo. The latter had another record broken by Messi, with a combined total of 20 direct goal appearances.

The seven-time Ballon d’Or winner, who previously shared a record with Cristiano Ronaldo. Become the first player to directly assist a goal in 14 different World Cup matches.

Since the introduction of the round of 16, Messi has also become the first player to score in the group stage, round of 16, quarter-final, semi-final and final of a World Cup.

Thanks for reading. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Follow us on: google news | Facebook | instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a nice day ahead 🙂

Leave a Comment